General Sir Richard Dannett, Chief of the General Staff - GCB (Knight Grand Cross of the Military Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath)

Vice Admiral Trevor Soar, incoming Commander-in-Chief Fleet - KCB (Knight Commander of the Military Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath)

Air Marshal Christopher Moran, incoming Commander-in-Chief Air Command - KCB

Air Marshal Stuart William Peach - CB

The Surgeon General, Lieutenant General Louis Lillywhite - CB (Companion in the Military Division of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath)

Major General John Gordon Rose RM - CB

Major General Adrian John Bradshaw - CB

Lieutenant General Andrew Collingwood Figgures - CB

Major General Jonathan David Page - CB

Air Vice-Marshal Charles Wright Ness - CB

Senior Civil Servant John Pitt-Brooke,Director General Secretariat Land Forces - CB

Lieutenant General Graeme Cameron Maxwell Lamb - KBE (Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire)

Surgeon Commodore Timothy Roger Douglas-Riley, Assistant Chief of Staff Medical for
the Royal Navy - CBE (Commander in the Military Division of the
Most Excellent Order of the British Empire)

Rear Admiral Trevor Allan Spires - CBE

Commodore Robert Charles Thornton RFA - CBE (Civil Division)

Colonel Timothy Hodgetts, Defence Professor of Emergency Medicine - CBE

Brigadier Robert Hanbury Tenison Aitken - CBE

Brigadier Nicholas Roy Davies - CBE

Brigadier Stephen George Vowles - CBE

Group Captain Malcolm Andrew Brian Brecht - CBE

Air Commodore Philip Colin Osborn - CBE

Group Captain Edward Jackson Stringer - CBE

Colonel Peter David Fraser–Hopewell - CMG (Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of St Michael and St George)

Those providing care to military casualties are particularly well represented in
these awards. Those honoured and based in at the Selly Oak Hospital in Birmingham include a padre, the Reverend Steven Whiting; a Military Liaison Officer from the Rifles, Warrant Officer Class 2 Robert Proctor; and a RAF remedial gymnast, Sergeant Justin Hartland Scholes.

From the medical Reserves were the two Commanding Officers of the Welsh and Scottish
Territorial Army Field Hospitals: Colonel Philip James Hubbard and Colonel Sam
Rawlinson, who has also been responsible for the introduction of the new blood
transfusion policies that have significantly contributed to the increased survival
rates of UK casualties treated in field hospitals.

The full list of New Year's Honours winners from the MoD is published on its

The following were also recognised for services to the defence industry in the UK

Douglas Craster CBE - chief executive Ultra Electronics Holdings
Dr Andrew John Lowe OBE
Grahame Richard Nix OBE - chief operating officer, Marshall Aerospace
Gerald Bishop MBE - employee development manager, Cobham
John Harris MBE - shipwright, BAE Systems Submarine Solutions
Stephen Thomas Hayward MBE - business development manager York Naval Systems
Simon Charles James MBE - chief engineer, Selex Communications
Nigel Seddon MBE - novel systems technical expert, MBDA UK