Taken from the House of Commons debate, 13th January 2010

National Security Strategy (Joint Committee)
Ordered ,

That  the Lords Message of 7 January communicating a Resolution relating to National Security Strategy (Joint Committee), be now considered; this House concurs with the Lords in the said Resolution; and the following Standing Order be made:

(1) There shall be a Select Committee, to consist of 12 Members, to join with the Committee appointed by the Lords as the Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy, to consider the National Security Strategy.

(2) The committee shall have power to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, to report from time to time, and to appoint specialist advisers either to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the committee's order of reference, and to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom.

(3) The quorum of the committee shall be three; and

(4) Unless the House otherwise orders, each Member nominated to the committee shall continue to be a member of it for the remainder of the Parliament. -(Mr. Blizzard.)

National Security Strategy


That Mr James Arbuthnot, Margaret Beckett, Sir Alan Beith, Des Browne, Malcolm Bruce, Mike Gapes, Dr Kim Howells, Peter Luff, Mr Paul Murphy, Sir Malcolm Rifkind, Paddy Tipping and Keith Vaz be members of the Select Committee appointed to join with a Committee of the Lords as the Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy. -(Mr. Blizzard.)