Thursday, 25 April 2019
Up-to-the-minute perspectives on defence, security and peace
issues from and for policy makers and opinion leaders.

     |      View our Twitter page at     |     


The award of the Military Cross or Distinguished Flying Cross for gallantry to 21 heroes has just been announced. This is in addition to the George Cross awarded to Lance Corporal Matthew Croucher announced yesterday (see In the service of their country posting)

Marine Eroni Sikavou Bulabalavu CINAVILAKEBA, Royal Marines
Marine Mkhuseli JONES, Royal Marines
Corporal Wayne Robert LLOYD, Royal Marines
Major Adrian MORLEY, Royal Marines
Sergeant Paul Andrew NORRIS, Royal Marines
Sergeant Dean Charles SYKES, Royal Marines
Corporal Christopher Steven WETTON, Royal Marines
Marine Richard Reginald WITHERS, Royal Marines
Captain Paul Nathaniel Brenig BRITTON, Royal Regiment of Artillery
Acting Sergeant John Mathew COCKBURN, The Yorkshire Regiment
Private Scott Robert DOCHERTY, The Parachute Regiment
Rifleman Bhimbahadur GURUNG, The Royal Gurkha Rifles
Major Jason Alexis LITTLE, The Yorkshire Regiment
Major Paul Ralph Gareth PITCHFORK, The Royal Gurkha Rifles
Major Douglas Fraser REID, Royal Army Medical Corps
Major Ian David SCATTERGOOD, The Royal Logistic Corps
Corporal Richard Steven STREET, Corps of Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers
Lance Corporal Mohansingh TANGNAMI, The Royal Gurkha Rifles
Lance Corporal Agnish THAPA, The Royal Gurkha Rifles

Bar to Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)

Wing Commander Philip Jeremy ROBINSON DFC, Royal Air Force

Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)

Lieutenant Nichol James Emslie BENZIE, Royal Navy

In total 136 members of the Armed Forces and one MoD civilian have been honoured.
See for the full list

Hierarchy of gallantry, leadership and bravery awards for active operations (in presence of the enemy):

Level 1

Victoria Cross (VC)
Level 2

Distinguished Service Order (DSO)
(for command and leadership)

Conspicuous Gallantry Cross (CGC)
(for gallantry)
Level 3

Distinguished Service Cross (DSC)
(at sea)

Military Cross (MC)
(on land)

Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC)
(in the air)
Level 4

Mention in Despatches
(for bravery, no post-nominal)

Hierarchy of gallantry and bravery awards for non-active operations (not in presence of the enemy):

Level 1

George Cross (GC)
Level 2

George Medal (GM)
Level 3

Queens's Gallantry Medal (QGM)

Air Force Cross (AFC)
Level 4

Queen's Commendation for Bravery

Queen's Commendation for Bravery in the Air

(both for bravery, no post-nominal)

Add comment

Security code

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Defence Viewpoints website. However, if you would like to, you can modify your browser so that it notifies you when cookies are sent to it or you can refuse cookies altogether. You can also delete cookies that have already been set. You may wish to visit which contains comprehensive information on how to do this on a wide variety of desktop browsers. Please note that you will lose some features and functionality on this website if you choose to disable cookies. For example, you may not be able to link into our Twitter feed, which gives up to the minute perspectives on defence and security matters.