Monday, 18 October 2021
Up-to-the-minute perspectives on defence, security and peace
issues from and for policy makers and opinion leaders.

     |      View our Twitter page at     |     
gallantry awards

Two British military bomb disposal experts, one of whom gave his life in the line of duty, have been awarded one of the UK's highest awards for gallantry, the George Cross.

At a special ceremony in London today, Chief of the Defence Staff Air Chief Marshal Sir Jock Stirrup confirmed that Staff Sergeant Kim Hughes and his fallen colleague the late Staff Sergeant Olaf Schmid are to have the gallantry award bestowed upon them.

SSgt Hughes and Mrs Christina Schmid, SSgt Schmid's widow, were present at the ceremony today, where they were both personally congratulated by Chief of the Defence Staff, Air Chief Marshal Sir Jock Stirrup, and Secretary of State for Defence Bob Ainsworth.

Read more...  

A total of 146 members of the Armed Forces and one civilian have received honours and awards in the Operational Honours List dated today, 19 March 2010.

Read more...  

The following service appointments have been announced:


Lieutenant-General Sir Nick Parker, KCB, CBE, Late Royal Green Jackets, currently Deputy Commander International Security Assistance Force and United Kingdom National Contingent Commander – Afghanistan, to be Deputy Supreme Allied Commander Europe, in the rank of General, in succession to General Sir John McColl, KCB, CBE, DSO, in February 2011.

Major-General T.P. Evans, DSO, MBE, Late Light Infantry, currently Chief of Staff Headquarters Allied Rapid Reaction Corps, to be Chief of Staff International Security Assistance Force Joint Command – Afghanistan, in succession to Major-General C. J. Boag, CBE, in December 2010.

Read more...  


Major-General C. J. Boag, CBE, Late Corps of Royal Engineers, currently Chief of Staff Headquarters International Security Assistance Force Joint Command—Afghanistan, 7 to be General Officer Commanding 4th Division, in succession to Major-General R. L Kirkland, CBE, in May 2011.

Brigadier T. A. Beckett, CBE, Late Parachute Regiment, currently Director Commitments, Headquarters Land Forces, to be Deputy Commander Nato Rapid Deployment Corps — Italy, in the rank of major-general, in succession to Major-General D. A. Capewell, OBE, Royal Marines, in July 2010.

Read more...  

At a time when all three branches of the armed forces are committed to combat in Afghanistan and are extensively deployed throughout the world, there is relatively little recognition for them in the New Year's Honours List.


Lt General Bill Rollo - late the Blues and Royals
Lt General Alexannder Richard Shirreff - late The King's Royal Hussars


The Venerable John Green QHC - Royal Navy
Major General Simon Lalor - Territorial Army
Rear Admiral Richard David Leaman
Lt General Simon Mayall late 1st The Queen's Dragoon Guards
The Reverend (Air Vice Marshal) Peter Watson Mills
Lt General Peter Clayton Pearson - late The Royal Ghurka Rifles


Brigadier Stephen Frederick Sherry late Royal Engineers


Air Commodore Clive Arther Bairsto
Colonel Mark Cuthbert-Brown
Group Captain Keith Ronald Dipper
Colonel David James Eadie
Commodore Stephen Redvers Kirby
Colonel Christopher William Manning
Brigadier Simon John Marriner
Group Captain Alistair Monkman
Commodore Christopher Laurence Palmer
Colonel Michael Peter McGregor Stewart
Group Captain Andrew Mark Turner

...and the top civilians at the MoD? Hardly visible in the top echelons


Gloria Linda Craig - director, International Security Policy

...and finally....


Timothy Michael Everton Dowse - formerly chief of Assessments Staff, Joint Intelligence Organisation


cenotaphA national service of commemoration to mark the 65th anniversary of Victory in Europe Day (VE Day) was held at the Cenotaph on the 8th May. TRH The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall, senior government representatives and Defence Chiefs, were joined by representatives of World War II associations, veterans of the conflict, current Service personnel whose grandparents fought in WWII and members of the public.

The service was attended by Prime Minister Gordon Brown, David Cameron and Nick Clegg.

VE Day marks the official end of hostilities in Europe for the Second World War on 8 May 1945, following the formal unconditional surrender of German Forces. It was an occasion of national celebration, yet also one of sombre reflection for those who would not return.

Wreaths were laid by His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, PM Gordon Brown, Air Chief Marshal Sir Jock Stirrup, The Chief of the Defence Staff, Admiral Sir Mark Stanhope, The First Sea Lord, General Sir David Richards, Chief of the General Staff, Air Chief Marshal Sir Stephen Dalton, Chief of the Air Staff, and Lieutenant General Sir John Kiszely, National President of The Royal British Legion.

Following the service, a reception was hosted by the Royal British Legion for the veterans at Horse Guards Parade, attended by HRH The Prince of Wales.


The following service appoitnments and retirements have been announced:

Senior Army retirements


P. E. O'R-B. Davidson-Houston, Late RGBW, retired on December 16, 2009

S. F. Sherry, Late RE, retired on January 30, 2010

J. A. S. Downes, Late RLC, retired on April 2, 2010

I. Cameron-Mowat, Late R Signals, retired on April 22, 2010

Read more...  

Lieutenant-General J. J. C. Bucknall, CBE, Late Coldstream Guards, whose appointment to be Commander Allied Rapid Reaction Corps in August 2010 has been announced, to be Deputy Commander International Security Assistance Force Afghanistan, in succession to Lieutenant-General Sir Nick Parker, KCB, CBE, in November 2010.

Brigadier C. Chapman (Late Parachute Regiment), currently Head of Counter Terrorism and UK Operations, Ministry of Defence, to be Senior British Military Adviser United States Central Command, in the rank of Major-General, in succession to Air Vice-Marshal G. E. Stacey, MBE, in September 2010.

Royal Marines

Major General D. A. Capewell, OBE, to be appointed Assistant Chief of Defence Staff (Operations) in succession to Air Vice Marshal A. D. Pulford, CBE, RAF, with effect from August 23, 2010

Read more...  

Royal Air Force

Air Marshal S. Bryant, CBE, to be promoted Air Chief Marshal and to be Commander-in-Chief Air Command and Air Aide-de-Camp to Her Majesty The Queen with immediate effect, in succession to the late Air Chief Marshal Sir Christopher Moran KCB, QBE, MVO.ADC.

Air Vice-Marshal A. D. Pulford, CBE to be promoted Air Marshal and to be Deputy Commander-in-Chief (Personnel) Headquarters Air Command and the Air Member for Personnel from September 1, 2010, in succession to Air Marshal S. Bryant, CBE.

Air Vice-Marshal R. F. Garwood, CB, CBE, DFC, to be promoted Air Marshal and to be Deputy Commander-in-Chief (Operations) Headquarters Air Command with immediate effect, in succession to Air Marshal I. W. McNicoll, CB, CBE, who is retiring from the Service.

Air Vice-Marshal M. G. Lloyd is appointed Acting Deputy Commander-in-Chief (Personnel) and the Air Member for Personnel with immediate effect until September 1, 2010.


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Defence Viewpoints website. However, if you would like to, you can modify your browser so that it notifies you when cookies are sent to it or you can refuse cookies altogether. You can also delete cookies that have already been set. You may wish to visit which contains comprehensive information on how to do this on a wide variety of desktop browsers. Please note that you will lose some features and functionality on this website if you choose to disable cookies. For example, you may not be able to link into our Twitter feed, which gives up to the minute perspectives on defence and security matters.